Give a hoot, don’t pollute.

Hello fellow orange’etts.
     Okay, so, a lot has happened since my last blog. I’ll try to keep this as interesting as possible and to keep the fluff talk to a minimum. I know that last blog I told you that I had received the go ahead to get a paper retriever for my home school Menallen. Well, when I put in my submission for the bin, I was given the reply , ” I’m sorry, we no longer serve the Uniontown area, good luck going green.” Ahhhhh! I’m sure you can imagine my frustrations after going through all the big dogs to get this approved. Any who, there is a happy ending.
     The specials at Menallen, music, library, and art, were asked to put together an earth day program since the librarian and myself have such an interest in trying to help the world environmentally. Ha. The music teacher, Mr.Miller, got a hold of a gentleman that works for Veolia. We had a meeting with this man on Friday afternoon during the PSSA pep rally. In a nutshell, he is going to get us recycling bins for every room in the building as well as service our school by taking our recyclables for no cost!!!! Ah! Weehoo! I refer to this man as Ollie the green angel. He told us that paper retriever has had some financial issues and this may be why I got the response that I did. Ollie offered to be a guest for our earth day celebration! 
     What does my inquiry and class work have to do with this? Well, to start my sculpture unit, I had 5 and 6 grade classes get into groups and had then fill out a Collaborative thinking worksheet. After seeing a visual presentation using my iPad and ladybug projector on different types of sculpture, the groups were to answer/ sketch a few answers to questions. The next time the students had class, I told them what their building materials were going to be. Materials were cardboard, masking tape, paper mâché, egg cartons, or anything they want to bring from home. I mentioned how this project was going to tell the importance of recycling as well as BE a recycled product. The construction of the sculptures has began. I will be posting pictures tomorrow.

About artistaw13

Hello, :) .
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Give a hoot, don’t pollute.

  1. OMG this is like a soap opera – You prevailed!!! Can’t wait to see the pictures 🙂

  2. artistaw13 says:

    Haha.. Lorraine. I’m trying to keep you guys in suspense!

  3. dcader says:

    This is so cool. I am excited to see the pictures. Your students must be so excited.

  4. Cory Wilkerson says:

    CONGRATULATIONS! That is wonderful news Amy- what a difference you have made in their lives and the school! Art in action at its best!

Leave a Reply

